Jan Brokken

Jan Brokken was born in Holland in 1949. He has travelled all over the world and lived in West Africa, Curacao and Venezuela. Currently he lives in Amsterdam. He is one of Holland’s most highly regarded writers and has published novels and short stories as well as travel narratives and literary journalism. His passion for travel influences his fiction and non-fiction alike.

Praise for The Rainbird

‘travel writing at its most enthralling, meaningful and engaging… Like Bruce Chatwin’s novel The Viceroy of Ouidah, about a white man’s disintegration in Africa ’ Elisabeth King, Sydney Morning Herald

The Rainbird is as richly textured and vibrant as the primeval forest itself’ Benedict Allen



De provincie (novel, 1984)
De zee van vroeger (short stories, 1986)
Zaza en de president (novel, 1988)
Vulkanen vanaf zee (short stories, 1993)
De blinde passagiers (novel, 1995)
e droevige kampioen (novel, 1997)

Voel maar (novel, 2001)

Jungle Rudy (
documentary novel, 1999)
Met musici (portraits, 1990)

Travel Narratives
De moordenaar van Ouagadougou (1989)
De regenvogel (1991)
Goedenavond, Mrs. Rhys (1992)